SANTA FE (KSMX)- During a press conference on July 1, Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham announced that beginning today through July 15, Phase Two of New Mexico’s reopening remains on hold and all restrictions and occupancy remain in place.
There will also be a 14-day mandatory quarantine for all out of state visitors.
Mandatory face-coverings in public will be “aggressively enforced.”
- Businesses must require customers to wear face-coverings.
- Violators are subject to $100 fines.
Other states such as Arizona and Texas, have begun to reverse openings of high-exposure services such as bars, gyms, dine-in services, etc.
“We want absolutely nothing less than to move backward, to re-enact restrictions on certain activities but I am prepared to do it to protect the health and safety of New Mexicans.”
The Governor stated that if trends do not stabilize or improve in the next week, officials will re-enact restrictions on:
- Indoor dine-in services and alcohol services
- Occupancy limits at retailers, houses of worship