Fri. Jun 21st, 2024


An executive order has been issued by Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham, amending the mandatory quarantine requirements for some travelers who arrive in New Mexico. According to the order, which goes into effect September 4th, individuals who arrive from states with a 5% positivity rate or greater, or new case rate greater than 80 per 1 million residents, are required to quarantine for at least 14 days from the time of arrival, or the duration of their stay, whichever is shorter. If documentation can be shown proving a valid negative COVID-19 test taken within the 72 hours before or after entry into New Mexico, are exempt from the 14-day requirement, regardless of which stave they have traveled from. The exemption, however, does not apply to those who enter the state after traveling outside the U.S. High risk states included in the order are:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

The self-quarantine is not required for individuals who arrive from states with a 5% or lower positivity rate or a new case rate lower than 80 per 1 million residents. The COVID positivity rates will be calculated over a 7-day rolling average. Also updated in the order is places of lodging that have been safe-certified may expand their maximum occupancy from 50% to 70%.

About Post Author