Fri. Jun 21st, 2024


NEW MEXICO (KSMX) – Unofficial results show Congresswoman Michelle Lujan Grisham seized the New Mexico governor’s office away from Republican control as Democratic candidates swept a long list of statewide races. Sentiments against President Donald Trump were running high across much of the state as Lujan Grisham defeated GOP Congressman Steve Pearce in Tuesday’s election. Democratic U.S. Sen. Martin Heinrich will serve a second term after winning a three-way race. Democrats won re-election as attorney general, secretary of state and state treasurer. Democratic state lawmaker Stephanie Garcia Richard will become the state’s first female land commissioner. Races here locally show that Republican Janemarie Vander Dussen snatched up 53 percent of the vote, defeating Democrat Nicole Roybal. Meanwhile, Republican Martin Zamora appears to have narrowly defeated incumbent Democrat George Dodge in the state representative race. Incumbent Curry County Assessor Candace Morrison easily defeated write-in candidate Lunden Hromas. Uncontested winners include Shaun Burns for Magistrate Judge District 2, Curry County Sheriff Wesley Waller, Roosevelt County Sheriff Malin Parker, and Christopher Mitchell for Magistrate Judge. All four Bond questions on the ballots passed voters approvals with Bond A passing with just over 70% of the vote, Bond B and C with over 68% and Bond D with over 65%.

About Post Author

Leave a Reply