Wed. Jul 24th, 2024


The New Mexico Department of Health on Wednesday announced the updated statewide COVID-19 map, with 32 New Mexico counties at the Turquoise Level and one at the Green Level, at which there are fewer restrictions on commercial and day-to-day activities amid decreased virus risk. There are no counties at the Yellow or Red Levels as of May 19. Counties may still backslide with enhancing risk upon the next biweekly map update.
When 60 percent of eligible New Mexicans have been fully vaccinated, the state will graduate out of the color-coded county risk system and remove most pandemic-related restrictions on commercial activities. As of today, May 20th, there are 52.9% of New Mexicans fully vaccinated.

As of late last week, per updated CDC guidance, New Mexicans who are fully vaccinated may opt to set aside their facemasks in most environments. Unvaccinated New Mexicans are required to retain their facemasks in public spaces.

Counties that may operate at the Turquoise Level as of May 19 are: Bernalillo, Catron, Cibola, Colfax, Curry, De Baca, Dona Ana, Eddy, Guadalupe, Grant, Harding, Hidalgo, Lea, Lincoln, Los Alamos, Luna, McKinley, Mora, Otero, Quay, Rio Arriba, Roosevelt, Sandoval, San Juan, San Miguel, Santa Fe, Sierra, Socorro, Taos, Torrance, Union and Valencia.

Counties that met both of the health metric thresholds and may operate at the Green Level as of May 19 are: Chaves.

About Post Author