Tue. Jun 25th, 2024

2020 Municipal Election Candidates

CLOVIS (KSMX)- In March, the City of Clovis will hold a municipal election with six contested races.  The races include four city commission seats, one magistrate judge position, and the election of a new Mayor.  Portales only has one contested race, the councilor seat for Ward B.

There are a total of five candidates running for the mayoral position being vacated by current Mayor David Lansford.  Candidates, in order of registration, include R.L. “Rube” Render, Raymond Mondragon, Stephen B. North, Michael A. Morris and Sandra Taylor-Sawyer.

Vicki D. Kelley is running to her retain her seat as a municipal judge.  Kelley was appointed to the position after the retirement of Jan Garrett.  Kelley will run against Paul Nelson, the IT Director for the City of Clovis.  

In District 1, seven candidates have entered the commission race.  They include James Matthew Whittington, Eric A. Collings, Kenneth R. Lindsey, Marcus Alan Smith, Rhonda Payne Bargman, Leo Lovett and George Talmadge Jones.

Districts 2 through 4 each have two candidates running for the commission seat.  Current district two commissioner, Sandra Taylor Sawyer, has opted to run for mayor and will vacate her position on the City Commission.  Running for that seat are Lauren Denise Rowley and Jamaal Rashad Williams.

In district 3, incumbent Helen Casaus is challenged by David W. Bryant.  In district 4, incumbent Chris Bryant is challenged by Rodney Michael Lusk.

In Portales, candidates for Wards A, C, and D are running unopposed.  Ward B is the only contested race.  Incumbent Jessica Jean Yi will run against Daniel Boan.

Early voting starts on February 4th and the election will be held on Tuesday, March 3rd.

About Post Author